A Happy Place

Disclaimer: I’d like to say that I claim no rights to the wonderful boy in this story. He is simply my strength and courage and belongs to a world that I call home. 

20160317_182857(0).jpg

Breathe in, breathe out…

Breathe in, breathe out…

Breathe in, breathe out…

Slowly, she blinked her eyes open. Spread out before her, the water sparkled. She was sitting in her favourite spot in town. To her right the wide river snaked its way closer, winking cheekily in the waning light. To her left, the Arabian Sea waved at her like an old friend. She allowed herself a small smile. After all, why not?

She breathed in again- the warmth of the day, the humidity in the air, the smell of brine all teaming up to clear her head.

“Hey,” he said, sitting down next to her.

She turned to him, the smile already in place. It was a special smile, meant only for his eyes. She looked him over once. He looked different since she last saw him. He was taller now, more muscular, and he had a scruff on his face. His green eyes, too old for his age, now held even more wisdom in them now. With a start, she realised, somewhere along the road they had both grown up.

“Hi!” she chirped back, “How have you been?”

“Fine, thanks. Work is mental. Oh, and everyone back home demanded that I convey their hellos.”

Her smile got wider, “How’s the missus?”

Even after all these years, he blushed, “Beautiful as ever, and just as hot tempered!”

She laughed, “Well, can you blame her? She has three kids and you!”

He shook his head, his laughter mingling with hers. The silence that followed felt gentle; the kind that only exists between old friends.

“Okay, I have to ask,” he said abruptly, “how are you doing?”

“Fine,” she replied reflexively.

“Please!” he scoffed, “I’ve known you for years. You came to me when you were happy, you came to me when you were miserable, and you came to me when you were mad at the world. I know you. Right now, you’re all three.”

She sighed, burying her face in her hands, “What should I do?” she whined.

“Now this is just like old times,” he giggled.

She shot him a glare. He sobered down immediately.

“Must be difficult huh? Juggling everything at once?” he asked.

“Says the guy who saved the world every second day,” she laughed in response.

He smiled down at her, affectionately bumping his shoulder into hers.

“It’s fine you know. I mean, even as a father I still feel just as clueless about my life,” he said, his hand jumping to rub the back of his neck; an old nervous tick.

“It’s different,” she insisted.

“Not really,” he said, “The situations may seem different but not knowing where your life is headed, is always terrifying…at least you’re not in immediate fatal danger,” he added, another weak attempt at humour.

She smiled reluctantly. He reached forward to take her hand, an old gesture, a comfortable one.

“Everything always works out in the end,” he told her, his voice now dropping into a half-whisper, “you were always there, screaming help and advice everytime I landed into trouble. You were always there for me everytime I need a shoulder or words of comfort. You were there for me from the beginning of my story, until the very end. Now the tide has changed. This is the beginning of your story, your adventures. So this time, I’m going to be there for you. Anytime you need me just look over your shoulder.”

“Harry,” she whispered, her eyes brimming over. She reached over to ruffle his already messy, jet-black hair. He may have grown up but to her, he was still the skinny little boy in over-sized clothes who lived under the stairs. To her he was still Harry, just Harry, her confidant, her brother, her best friend.

*******

Today, being September the 1st I thought was a good day for my first post. Another year come and gone and I still haven’t received my Hogwarts letter. Oh well! This is a small tribute to the boy who made my childhood and an author that never fails to inspire me.

Comments and feedback are always welcome! If you’ve reached this far I thank you for reading. 🙂

6 thoughts on “A Happy Place

Leave a Reply

