A Stage

This poem was originally meant to be a silly little piece I meant to submit to the college magazine. As soon as my pen touched my notebook though, it spiraled out of  control. Five minutes later this is what I submitted to the editing team.  

Man stands at a stage,

At a stage, where,

A degree defines knowledge

Gifts define love

Body defines beauty

accoutre defines class.

Freedom is a right, yet is lost everyday.

Science says, “Onward!”

Yet fools we stay.

Man stands at a stage,

At a stage, where,

The truth is buried,

The blame is placed,

Each is self-righteous,

Each afraid.

Yet is the bliss of ignorance,

There lies a spark!

A hope for the future, like

A beacon in the dark.

******

I considered rewriting and refining this, but it’s too late. I’m already attached to this.

Okay! I admit. Poems are not my strongest suit. So anybody with any advice is welcome to leave them in the comments. I’d love to hear it.

Thank you for reading!!

Leave a Reply

